Alliance for Aviation Across America
(310) 383-1771 (direct)
(202) 478-0875 (fax)

September 21, 2011

The Honorable Patty Murray
Democrat Co-chair
Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction
448 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20005

The Honorable Jeb Hensarling
Republican Co-chair
Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction
129 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Senator Murray and Congressman Hensarling:

During the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction's ongoing efforts to find cost savings, as members of the House General Aviation Caucus we strongly urge that aviation user fees not be imposed. We appreciate your attention to this matter.

As you know, the President's detailed proposal to pay for the American Jobs Act includes a $100 per flight fee on general aviation. In short, we believe such action would have a detrimental impact on the general aviation industry - which employs nearly 1.3 million workers and contributes more than $150 billion to the U.S. economy - domestic manufacturing, small businesses, and our economic recovery.

General aviation user fees have been proposed several times by different Administrations, both Republican and Democrat. The U.S. House of Representatives has repeatedly and overwhelmingly opposed them.

We support the current system of aviation excise taxes, which are a stable, efficient, and equitable source of funding. Per flight user fees have crippled the general aviation industry in other countries and we are concerned about the ramifications such fees would have in the U.S.

Again, we strongly urge that aviation user fees not be considered during ongoing discussions of the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction. Thank you for your attention to and consideration of our request.


Sam Graves
John Barrow
Tom Petri
Jerry Costello


The Honorable John Boehner
The Honorable Nancy Pelosi
The Honorable Eric Cantor
The Honorable Steny Hoyer
The Honorable Max Baucus
The Honorable John Kerry
The Honorable Jon Kyl
The Honorable Rob Portman
The Honorable Pat Toomey
The Honorable Xavier Becerra
The Honorable Dave Camp
The Honorable Jim Clyburn
The Honorable Fred Upton
The Honorable Chris Van Hollen